Penang, Malaysia (2016)

Penang has always been somewhere I wanted to visit but never had the chance. In January, I finally payed a visit to this city. I went to Penang with Yan Zhuang by bus. Yen Wei and Tze Shin joined us on the second day. This trip was kind of impromptu –  nothing was planned, we didn’t follow our plan either. 

21st January (Thursday)

DSC_0029

(Terminal Bersepadu Selatan BTS) 

Our bus was supposed to depart at 10:30am but it was delayed for almost an hour. We switched to another bus line (arranged by the staff there). We were also forced to stop at Sungai Nibong instead of our original destination at Komtar. 

DSC_0058

DSC_0053

(Penang)

We took Rapid Penang (bus) to travel from Sungai Nibong to Komtar. We were a bit lost after we got down from the bus (at least I was). We wander under the hot sun for almost half an hour but luckily we managed to find our way to our hotel located at Cintra Street.

DSC_0172

DSC_0173

DSC_0175

Our hotel was called Malabar Inn. We spent some time relaxing in our room before going out for dinner.

We had our dinner at a nearby mamak stall. The hawker there thought I was Japanese and was surprised that I could speak Malay. #sayaanakmalaysia

DSC_0068.jpg

After the dinner, we walked from Cintra Street to Chulia Street and Love Lane! 

DSC_0128

DSC_0136

DSC_0139

DSC_0152

DSC_0161

DSC_0140

DSC_0156

Before heading back to our hotel, we had our supper at Kimberly Street. It’s so hot and we were thirsty. 

DSC_0133

DSC_0162

22nd January (Friday)

Yen Wei and Tze Shin came to our hotel to pick us up in the morning. We went for breakfast at Ah Lai Coffee Shop. They strongly recommended us the Egg & Toast and Kopi Ais Special. Gosh I was so in love with the egg toast bread! Love at the first bite!

IMG_8789 IMG_8797

Our first stop was Fort Cornwallis. It required an entrance fee of MYR10 (for Malaysian). It was expensive and not worth it. There wasn’t a lot of visitors – just a few foreigners and the four of us. Fun fact: use their toilet! it’s clean and nice. the weather was so hot so we stayed inside there to chill (there’s an air-cond in the toilet! lol) 

DSC_0186

DSC_0206

DSC_0212

Path of Penang Hot Air Balloon was somewhere near Fort Cornwallis (5 mins walking distance if i wasn’t mistaken) This place was so photogenic, I couldn’t stop taking pictures! 

DSC_0258

DSC_0220

DSC_0236

DSC_0252

Penang is famous for their Street Art. I saw some in Ipoh before so I wasn’t amaze by it.

DSC_0273

DSC_0303

 DSC_0299

DSC_0266

DSC_0267

DSC_0285

DSC_0297

DSC_0321

Our fourth stop was Seh Tek Tong Cheah Kongsi 世德堂谢公司. It required an entrance fee of MYR10 as well.

DSC_0341

DSC_0384

DSC_0438

DSC_0433

DSC_0392

DSC_0422 DSC_0426

DSC_0447

DSC_0465

We went to Gurney Paragon later for Penang Hop On and Hop Off (HOHO). I didn’t have my Student ID with me anymore, so I needed to pay MYR19 for the ticket. It’s totally worth it because once you purchase the ticket you can Hop On Hop Off for unlimited time in 24 hours. We chose the Beach Route instead of City Route (highly recommended Beach Route, advice from Penang friends!)

DSC_0479 DSC_0473 DSC_0478

DSC_0497 DSC_0512

DSC_0520

After the ride, we went to Kpot Kkang Tong (Korean Grilled BBQ) for dinner. I wasn’t a big fans of Korean food but I was in love with their Kimchi! The price for a person is around MYR40 (after tax). I was hungry and busy eating so I didn’t take any photos during the dinner. Soreeeh!

We went to Straits Quay afterward. We spent hours there  talking about college stuff and future plans. 

Stay tune for Part 2 of my trip!

2 thoughts on “Penang, Malaysia (2016)

  1. Teresa

    Hello my name is Teresa and I just wanted to drop you a quick note here instead of calling you. I came to your Create a website or blog at WordPress.com website and noticed you could have a lot more hits. I have found that the key to running a popular website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get keyword targeted visitors from and they let you try their service for free for 7 days. I managed to get over 300 targeted visitors to day to my website. http://rb2.in/4nS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

