Books Read 2016 (#2)

DSC_0102.JPG

Couldn’t believe that I actually completed my 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge in April. However, I’ve to admit that finished reading 11 books in 4 months wasn’t really a big achievement (compared to my previous goals)

As I had mentioned in my previous post, I was in a reading slump since mid of February. Guess it was because I was stressing over university applications, so I couldn’t get into any of the book!

I finished reading 9 books in these two months – 8 novels and 1 graphic novel.

DSC_0099.JPG

To All the Boys I Loved Before‘ and ‘P.S. I Still Love You‘ by Jenny Han weren’t on my tbr list. My sister bought it but I read it before she did. A lot of YA readers highly recommended this series but I didn’t find the urge to read, because the book titles reminded me of ‘Love Letters to the Dead‘ by Ava Dellaira. I had high expectation for ‘Love Letters to the Dead’ but it disappointed me. I thought ‘To All the Boys I Loved Before‘ consisted of only letters, BUT I WAS WRONG! I had so much feelings for this book and I was so in love with every characters in the story, they’re so genuine and I could always relate to them. Surprisingly, it didn’t only focus on relationship, but also family. I love how Lara Jean interacted with her sisters ❤ Nevertheless, I was a bit (just a bit, 0.001%) disappointed with the ending

  1.  To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Rating: ★★★★✰

Quotes:

(a) “When someone’s been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it’s like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you’re just clutching air and grit. That’s why you can’t save it all up like that.

Because by the time you finally see each other, you’re catching up only on the big things, because it’s too much bother to tell about the little things. But the little things are what make up life.”

(b) “You’d rather make up a fantasy version of somebody in your head than be with a real person.”

(c) “I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have to be forever.”

(d) “Do you think there’s a difference? Between belonging with and belonging to?”

(e) “Margot would say she belongs to herself. Kitty would say she belongs to no one. And I guess I would say I belong to my sisters and my dad, but that won’t always be true. To belong to someone—I didn’t know it, but now that I think about, it seems like that’s all I’ve ever wanted. To really be somebody’s, and to have them be mine.”

 

 

 

2. P.S. I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)  by Jenny Han

Ratings: ★★★★★

Quotes

(a) “People come in and out of your life. For a time they are your world; they are everything. And then one day they’re not. There’s no telling how long you will have them near.”

(b) “There’s a Korean word my grandma taught me. It’s called jung. It’s the connection between two people that can’t be severed, even when love turns to hate. You still have those old feelings for them; you can’t ever completely shake them loose of you; you will always have tenderness in your heart for them.”

(c) “When you lose someone and it still hurts, that’s when you know the love was real.”

(d) “Things feel like they’ll be forever, but they aren’t. Love can go away, or people can, without even meaning to. Nothing is guaranteed.”

(e) “I suppose you can’t hold on to old things just for the sake of holding on.”

(f) “I don’t think it was our time then. I guess it isn’t now, either.” John looks over at me, his gaze steady. “But one day maybe it will be.”

(g) “Us,” Peter corrects. “I did it for us.” He links our fingers together. “It’s you and me, kid.”

(h) “Lara Jean, I think you half-fall in love with every person you meet. It’s part of your charm. You’re in love with love.”

 

 

 

If you’ve realised, most of the books I read were YA fictions. I decided to read something out of my comfort zone. So, I chose Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami because (a) I always wanted to read Murakami’s book (b) Beatles (c) good reviews (d) one of my 101 in 1001 goals was to read a translated book (d) I couldn’t find 1Q84 in the bookstores   I love this book! I thought of myself, my pasts and futures a lot while reading this book. (ps // but toooo much sex!)

 

3. Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

Rating: ★★★★★

Quotes:

(a) “I suppose it’s all a matter of attitude. You could let a lot of things bother you if you wanted to.”

(b) Life doesn’t require ideals. It requires standards of action.

(c) “What happens when people open their hearts?”
“They get better.”

(d) “Nobody likes being alone that much. I don’t go out of my way to make friends, that’s all. It just leads to disappointment. ”

(e) “Don’t feel sorry for yourself. Only assholes do that.”

(f) “But who can say what’s best? That’s why you need to grab whatever chance you have of happiness where you find it, and not worry about other people too much. My experience tells me that we get no more than two or three such chances in a life time, and if we let them go, we regret it for the rest of our lives.”

(g) “I want you always to remember me. Will you remember that I existed, and that I stood next to you here like this?”

(h) “Letters are just pieces of paper,” I said. “Burn them, and what stays in your heart will stay; keep them, and what vanishes will vanish.”

(i) “No truth can cure the sorrow we feel from losing a loved one. No truth, no sincerity, no strength, no kindness can cure that sorrow. All we can do is see it through to the end and learn something from it, but what we learn will be no help in facing the next sorrow that comes to us without warning.”

(j) “I really like you, Midori. A lot.”
“How much is a lot?”
“Like a spring bear,” I said.
“A spring bear?” Midori looked up again. “What’s that all about? A spring bear.”
“You’re walking through a field all by yourself one day in spring, and this sweet little bear cub with velvet fur and shiny little eyes comes walking along. And he says to you, “Hi, there, little lady. Want to tumble with me?’ So you and the bear cub spend the whole day in each other’s arms, tumbling down this clover-covered hill. Nice, huh?”
“Yeah. Really nice.”
“That’s how much I like you.”

(k) “Memory is a funny thing. When I was in the scene, I hardly paid it any mind. I never stopped to think of it as something that would make a lasting impression, certainly never imagined that eighteen years later I would recall it in such detail. I didn’t give a damn about the scenery that day. I was thinking about myself. I was thinking about the beautiful girl walking next to me. I was thinking about the two of us together, and then about myself again. It was the age, that time of life when every sight, every feeling, every thought came back, like a boomerang, to me. And worse, I was in love. Love with complications. The scenery was the last thing on my mind.”

 

 

 

I thought of Yan Zhuang after I read the first few pages of 如果我可以许一个愿望 If I Can Make A Wish  I decided to buy this for her as her 20th birthday present. (also hoping that she didn’t have this copy!) I read this book twice before giving to Yan Zhuang. Dear friend, stay strong and stay positive! Remember I’m always here 🙂

4. 如果我可以许一个愿望 If I Can Make A Wish by 几米 Jimmy Liao

Rating: ★★★★★

 

 

 

Confession: I watched all the Harry Potters movies but I had never read any of the books!

I’ve a Chinese copy of Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix but I only read the first few chapters (I got it when I was still in primary school!) (I had problem reading books translated into Chinese) I challenged myself to finish reading all the Harry Potter books before my university starts in October. (and also have a Harry Potter movie marathon) I regret so much for not reading HP when I was younger. WHY I ONLY START READING HP NOW?? EXPLAIN! *okay it’s better late than never*

 

 

5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

Rating: ★★★★★

Quotes:

(a) “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

(b) “Fear of a name increases fear of the thing itself.”

(c) “One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. “Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”

(d) “Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!”

(e) “So light a fire!” Harry choked. “Yes…of course…but there’s no wood!” …
“HAVE YOU GONE MAD!” Ron bellowed. “ARE YOU A WITCH OR NOT!”

(f) “Harry – you’re a great wizard, you know.”
“I’m not as good as you,” said Harry, very embarrassed, as she let go of him.
“Me!” said Hermione. “Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery and – oh Harry – be careful!”

 

 

 

DSC_0033

No word could do justice of how much I LOVE Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy. I bought Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3) last year while I was preparing for my A-levels exam. It was the first book I wanted to read after my last paper. Nevertheless, I have forgotten what happened in the previous book, Hollow City. I remembered the peculiar animals, Miss Peregrine couldn’t transform back to human, a lot of adventures etc etc.  I had problems getting into the Library of Souls – maybe were because of (a) I forgot the details (b) reading slump (c) stressing over university applications

*spoiler alert*  I decided to read the first two books again! I remembered most of the details from the first book, so I finished it quite fast. I rated 4/5 stars for Hollow City, however, after finished reading Hollow City for the 2nd time, I rated it 5/5! Couldn’t believe that I actually forgot that the Bird carried by the Peculiar Children wasn’t Miss Peregrine at all! (such significant part of the story gosh!) There’s so many surprises in Library of Souls! I couldn’t help but judging everyone Jacob and Emma met in their journey. Especially Sharon!

I was a bit disappointed that they changed Emma’s ability in the movie. But at the same time, I am also curious and start to expect more from the movie. Melody of ‘New World Coming’ is haunting me!

DSC_0042

6. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Rating: ★★★★★

Quotes:

(a) “I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

(b) “When someone won’t let you in, eventually you stop knocking.”

(c) “We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

(d) “Sometimes it’s better not to look back.”

(e) “To have endured all the horrors he did, to have seen the worst of humanity and have your life made unrecognizable by it, to come out of all that the honorable and brave and good person I knew him to be— *that* was magical.”

 

 

 

7. Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs

Rating: ★★★★★

Quotes:

(a) “Just because they knew it was lost didn’t mean they knew how to let it go.”

(b) “Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.”

(c) “But you can’t feel bad every second, I wanted to tell her. Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better. It doesn’t mean you don’t care, or that you’ve forgotten. It just means you’re human.”

(d) “What I believe is that when it comes to big things in life, there are no accidents. Everything happens for a reason. You are here for a reason — and it’s not to fail and die.”

(e) “A song and a smile from someone I cared about could be enough to distract me from all that darkness, if only for a little while.”

(f) “I was here for a reason. There was something I was meant not simply to be, but to do- and it wasn’t to run or hide or give up the minute things seemed terrifying and impossible.”

(g) “Everything happens for a reason.”

(h) “I wanted to thank you,” I said.
She wrinkled her nose and squinted like I’d said something funny. “Thank me for what?” she said.
“You give me strength I didn’t know I had,”; I said. “You make me better.”

 

 

 

8. Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3) by Ransom Riggs

Rating: ★★★★★

Quotes:

(a) “What’s Hell for some,” said the boatman, “is paradise for others.”

(b) “We all have an expiration date. If I were you, I wouldn’t be in such a hurry to find out what it is.”

(c)”I cracked a smile. Emma didn’t. “You can’t,” she said. “If I lose you, the rest isn’t worth a damn.”

(d) “Everyone’s got a story. A plight. Everyone wants something from you, and they’re almost always lying. So yes, I remain unapologetically self-direct and profit motivated. But I deeply resent your suggestion that i would have dealings of any kind with someone who trades in peculiar fresh. Just because I’m a capitalist doesn’t mean I’m a black-hearted bastard.”

(e) “Doubt is the pinprick in the lift raft.”

(f) “Don’t get too attached. Remember, if you gave that thing half a chance, it would eat you alive.”

(g) “Sometimes we want things so badly, we imagine they’re real,” Dr. Spanger said.

(h) “No one can hurt you as badly as the people you love.”

(i) “Maybe,” she said. “Maybe. But now you’re making promises you might not be able to keep, and that’s how people in love get very badly hurt.”

 

 

 

currently reading: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2) by J.K. Rowling

 

Thanks for viewing! xx

Love, Jiaxin

2 thoughts on “Books Read 2016 (#2)

  1. Pingback: April (2014) | Sea of Infinity

  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2016 | Sea of Infinity

Leave a Reply

